Yuri!! On Ice (2016) anime, TV – sub

601-yuri-on-ice
Comedy, sports
Episodes 12
Duration 23min
Rated PG-13
Score 7
Creators Yamamoto Sayo, Kubo Mitsurou
Director Yamamoto Sayo
Voices Toyonaga Toshiyuki, Suwabe Junichi, Uchiyama Kouki, Kokido Shiho

 

Yuri is a figure skater that experienced crushing defeat. After a video of he performing his idol, Victors, routine, Victor shows up wanting to become his coach.
I’m gonna make this quick. It’s almost 0630 and I stayed up all night watching this so I got a headache…

I don’t understand the hype. At all.

The op, as well as all the songs used in the show were good. The skating was ok. The costumes were mostly shiny which is the only reason I would stop to watch figure skating while chanel surfing as a kid. The characters were okay. The art… wasn’t bad but at many parts, they seemed lazy. Many of the routines repeated throughout the series.

I can’t say it got the hype because it looked good. I’ve seen many other anime that have had more going for it. And story wise, in all honesty, I think the most entertaining part was that there was obvious sexually tension between Yuri and Victor so there’s plenty to fangirl about. And some of that came from Victor looking like V (Mystic Messenger) and JJ (the Canadian skater) dressing exactly like Eric Cartman (South Park). And I mean exact. Blue and yellow poof ball hat, red coat, yellow gloves, brown pants…

 

In all honesty, I wouldn’t recommend it at all. It was fun but… I didn’t really care about what happened aside from what I could fangirl over…

Leave a Reply

