Suicide Squad (2016) live action, movie – USA 

Suicide Squad.jpg
Action, adventure, comedy, sci fi
Duration 123min
Rated PG -13
Score 8
Director/writer David Ayer
Cast Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Viola Davis, Jared Leto, Jai Courtney, Jay Hernandez, Adewale Akinnyoye-Agbaje, Cara Delvingne, Joel Kinnaman, Adam Beach, Karen Fukuhara, Ben Affleck

 

A group is made up of some of the worse villains to deal with some black ops missions.

 

I’m being nice giving this an 8. It was fun. The enemy looked cool and pretty, although it was a little cheesy and annoying.

The problem is, this are DC villains. Batman villains specifically it seems. That makes it a little more difficult for me. I hate Batman. He’s the only hero I actually hate which suck since he has some of the better villains.

I have no idea who the Croc is. So he looks like a monster. But why is he treated like one? He doesn’t seem like a bad guy. Diablo seemed cool enough, and then they went and made him a pussy with a horrible back story which was sad but I couldn’t feel sad for him because he was just a dick. I didn’t expect Will Smith to be Deadshot and I didn’t expect the kid. If he cares so much about his damn kid, why didn’t he clean up his act so he could take care of her instead of leaving her to raise her mother? (And based on what i recall from Arrow, he strikes me as someone mean, not a doting father) and they tossed Katana in with no explanation until they got onto her husband’s soul being in her blade and no leaving it at that.

Then Joker and Harley! They were the only reasons in wanted to watch this movie in the first place! But what do I get? Maybe 10 minutes with Joker, a bit of a chance for my pervy mind to giggle about him straddling some guy. And Harley being kind of pervy and only a little bit crazy, even though she was apparently off her meds.

There wasn’t really enough of anyone in my opinion. Not nearly enough Joker (the previews had me expecting a lot more) and after the credits had Waller (who went from being kinda cool to just a cunt and back again) and Batman (out of costume), so I suspect if there’s a second, Batman is going to play a larger role which will mean I probably won’t want to watch it.

 

I would wait until you can rent it or watch it online. It wasn’t really worth the ticket price. Unless you know more about the characters. Maybe.

2 thoughts on “Suicide Squad (2016) live action, movie – USA 

  1. An 8 sounds like an overly generous score considering this negative review! I agree though, the characters had so much potential and they were barely explored

    • I completely agree. But despite its shortcomings, it was fun. I wasn’t bored watching it. Kind of confused and left wanting, but not bored. That usually has be bump up the score by a couple points, even if it doesn’t actually deserve it.

Leave a Reply

