THE READING Book 145: JOHNNY MAXWELL #1 Only You Can Save Mankind (Terry Pratchett)

0145K0141. JOHNNY MAXWELL 1 Only You Can Save Mankind - Terry Pratchett
TITLE 
JOHNNY MAXWELL (1) Only You Can Save Mankind

AUTHOR Terry Pratchett

GENRE paperback, fiction, young adult, science fiction, humor, fantasy, comedy

PUBLISHER Corgi, Doubleday

PAGES 174

YEAR 1993

NOTES

DESCRIPTION Johnny Maxwell is playing a new alien shoot-em game when the aliens surrender.

DECISION keep

So… I read this near the end of the Readathon so I was half asleep when I finished it. And about halfway through I had a friend over that wouldn’t shut up about voice actors (being amazed that there were sooo many anime I’ve talked about that people from his Dungeons & Dragons thing voiced or something. Like I care).

But… I liked it. It sort of gave me an Ender’s Game kind of feel, but less serious. It brought in the video game/reality/dream thing which was fun.

Apparently it’s first in a trilogy, but having read only this one, I’d say it stands on its own just fine and would recommend it.

Book #145
Keep #141
Lose #4

Leave a Reply

