Lolita (Vladimir Nabokov) book, fiction

Lolita. Vladimir nabokov.jpg

 

A man old enough to be her father falls in love with a 12-year old girl.

 

… it’s better than I expected. I have so many of my own books I have to read but last time I went to the library they had surprise books. So obviously I had to grab a book that claimed the first line of “Lolita, light of my life, fire of my loins.”

So… it’s written by a Russian. I can’t stand most Russian works. The names confuse me. But the setting is America so the names are easy enough. An awful lot of untranslated French though. Quite a few full paragraphs. That was horribly annoying.

But it was well written. Written to make you actually feel as though the main truly loved and cared for the girl. But at the same time he seemed to care more for himself. He wanted things to be good. He wanted to be happy. He wanted her to be happy.

 

So… I’d actually recommend it. Even if there’s way too much French.

Leave a Reply

