Hamburger Hill (1987) live action, movie – USA

hamburger hill. 1987
Drama, war, action
Duration 1hr 50min
Rating R
Score 8
Recommendations (keep in mind I haven’t watched many war movies). Silent Night (2002, live action movie set during Christmas Eve, WWII. More heart warming). 71: Into the Fire (2010 Korean movie of a group of 71 students fighting against North Korean Soldiers during the Korean War). Grave of the Fireflies (1988 animated movie of two orphans trying to survive after a bombing during WWII).
Director John Irving
Writer James Carabatsos
Cast Anthony Barrile, Michael Patrick Boatman, Don Cheadle, Michael Dolan, Don James, Dylan McDermott, MA Nickles, Harry O’Reilly, Daniel O’Shea, Tim Quill, Tommy Swerdlow, Courtney B Vance, Steven Weber, Tegan West

 

Realistic interpretation of one of the bloodiest battles of the Vietnam War.

 

So… I know pretty much nothing of the Vietnam War. What I read about this particular part, it did sound horrible. Now, as I mentioned, I don’t watch many war movies. The ones I do watch tend to be as light hearted as you can get when it comes to war movies (or shows) so I don’t have much to compare this term in terms of war movies.

I expected more gore. It’s said to have been one of the bloodiest battles and they called the hill “hamburger” for a reason. But there actually isn’t that much. Until the last 20-30 minutes or so that is. Then it gets into actual serious fighting. People die, they lose body parts, they looked like they’ve been badly burned. So if you’ve a weak heart or stomach, I’d avoid it. If you’re one of those overly PC “I need a safe place!” People, I’d suggest you avoid it as well. They use racial slurs galore.

I didn’t get too invested in the characters unfortunately. But I did feel for them when they were dying or their friends were dying. That’s expected during war though. People die. It’s sad, but since I wasn’t invested… there was one time it pissed me off though. One of the girlfriends were told it’s immoral to send letters to any of the soldiers and she followed along and stopped sending them.

 

Anyway, it’s not the best war movie I’ve seen, nor is it the most emotional. But it was interesting enough and maybe a little educational? Anyway, I’d recommend it.

Leave a Reply

