One Piece: Defeat the Pirate Ganzack (1998) anime, OVA – sub

424. One Piece Defeat the Pirate Ganzack
Action, adventure, comedy, fantasy, shounen, super power
Voices: Takano Urara, Toyoguchi Megumi, Takagi Wataru, Wakamoto Norio

Luffy, Zoro and Nami are on a small boat and starving when they’re attack and their ship is destroyed. Luffy and Zoro wash up on an island where they meet a young girl in armor named Medaka. They then learn that a pirate named Ganzack has taken everyone on the island that are able to work as slaves.

I sort of wonder if I should have watched this before starting the actual series. It aired first but it doesn’t really explain anything. Like why Luffy is apparently made out of rubber and why he freaks out over his hat just because some guy gave it to him. Maybe if I watched it later, I would have liked it more. But it was OK. I don’t think I like Nami but Luffy seems ok and Zoro is cool. I sort of wonder why so many characters seem to be so alike in the world of shounen. It’s OK at the moment, and my favourite character in Street Fighter (I think?) was the stretchy guy. He also reminds me if other main shounen characters. So based on those, I can’t complete too much. It’s hard to tell in a less than 30 minute episode if it’s going to be any good though.

Anyway, I’m getting off topic. I like the characters (aside from Nami), I can probably get used to the art soon enough and although I feel like I’ve seen a few episodes of a few other shows with this story line (people show up in a place where the men of working age are enslaved and everyone else is terrorized and they help free the people) but it has pirates. They’re weird pirates with crab costumes and straw hats, but pirates nonetheless.

After watching this, I actually look forward to watching the main series.

Leave a Reply

