THE READING Books 93-97: Detroit Metal City, vol 6-10 (Kiminori Wakasugi)

0093K0090. Detroit Metal City volume 6 - Kiminori Wakasugi 0094K0091. Detroit Metal City volume 7 - Kiminori Wakasugi 0095K0092. Detroit Metal City volume 8 - Kiminori Wakasugi 0096K0093. Detroit Metal City volume 9 - Kiminori Wakasugi 0097K0094. Detroit Metal City volume 10 - Kiminori Wakasugi
TITLE
Detroit Metal City, vol 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

AUTHOR/ARTIST Kiminori Wakasugi

GENRE fiction, manga. comedy, music, seinen

PUBLISHER VIZ Media

PAGES 208, 208, 208, 208, 216

YEAR 2010, 2010, 2011, 2011, 2011

NOTES

DESCRIPTION Volume 6 Negishi meets Aikawas father. All the band members manage to do something to make DMC look good. There’s a cop out to get Krauser. Someone wants to join DMC. We learn more about Krauser I.

volume 7 Negishi has disappeared and appears to have quit DMC. The battle of the two Krausers is drawing closer. Will Negishi give up?

Volume 8 DMC decide to take the boss to a hot springs resort because she seems unusually touchy. Negishi decides to try enka. Krauser tries his hand at wrestling. Negishi finally gets Aikawa to a hotel room. Jagi tries to promote the new single on his own. Krauser/Negishi tries to help a couple in love. The understudies try to take over DMC.

Volume 9 Negishi is still trying to get somewhere without DMC and trying to get with Aikawa. He meets a new girl who would be perfect, except for one problem. Jack Ill Dark is producing a new band. And there’s a new rival who might have quite a bit in common with Negishi.

Volume 10 Negishi has gone to France. Meanwhile, God has taken over the world of metal. Will everything end like this?

DECISION keep

I sort of expected more from volume 6 because of the cliffhanger at the end of volume 5. The first three chapters were about DMC doing stuff to make the band look good. Intentionally or not. They were kinda awesome. Especially Negish/Krauser. But what about Krauser I that showed up last volume? He didn’t make and appearance until the end of chapter 63 and we learn nothing about him until chapter 65 and even then, at that point it isn’t much. And there’s only 68 chapters. But as awesome as he seems to be, I’m not convinced he can actually defeat Krauser II. What he’s truly upset about can be remedied with only 3 words from boss from the looks of it. Although that final chapter did annoy me. Seriously Negishi, you have more important things to worry about right now than that damn sow.
Also, there was pi. I read the entire thing. I could have skipped. It wouldn’t have made any difference. But I read it!

Volume 7 seemed a little slow to me. I wish they had more of his time at the art studio. They have a bit of a documentary thing from while he was there, but it didn’t explain what happened. Then there was a chapter of Deathism which was sort of really annoying. But they seemed to have figured something out? Negishi also appears to have figured something out, but I sure wouldn’t bet money or food on it. “Krauser I” was really annoying. His reasons were as I expected and that’s just lame. The final battle was pretty awesome though. As was Negishi trying a new look. The bonus chapter was hilarious.

For volume 8, I think the wrestling chapters were the best. They had that one little girl from one of the bonus chapters (Detroit Moe City. I can’t remember the volume though) in it so it was cute. There was also a chapter with the Pig that was amazing. Especially the way it ended. The understudies annoyed me though. Krausers always annoys me, but they all had understudies in this one. It was horrible.

volume 9 I feel was funnier than the last few but it’s lacking something the first couple volumes had. I can’t put my finger on what exactly. Maybe it’s too similar to the first few chapters? But Negishi is letting out his inner Krauser more, even without the makeup and around people he knows. I can’t figure out how no one figured it out yet. Then there’s a new rival that has way too much in common with Negishi/Krauser. That ending though! Seriously, the ‘kken hell was that?!

Volume 10 started out slow. I don’t care about this God bastard. I just want him dead. Then there was a chapter pretty much all in French following a bird around. But once the battle started, it was amazing. Great ending as well in my opinion. But it has me convinced Aikawa is a complete moron and should die. I’m also not sure if I should be happy or sad for Negishi after that thing with her….

Anyway, overall, as long as you aren’t a sow or gobo, you’ll love this.

Book #93-97
Keep #90-94
Lose #3

Leave a Reply

