Sherlock: A Study in Pink (2010) live action, tv (episode) – UK

sherlock a study in pink
crime, drama, mystery
director: Paul McGuigan
writers: Steven Moffat, Mark Gatiss, Arthur Conan Doyle
starring: Benedict Cumberbach, Martin Freeman, Rupert Graves, Una Stubbs, Vinette Robinson

Dr John Watson is a war vet that has recently returned to London and is looking for a place to stay. He meets an old friend who introduces him to Sherlock Holmes, a consulting detective that happens to be looking for a roommate. Shortly after they meet however, Holmes decides to drag Watson along with him as he investigates what appears to be a string of serial suicides.

I don’t normally do posts for one single episode, but I’ll make an exception for this show as the episodes are almost an hour and a half and almost feel like movies to me.

Anyway, the characters are likeable enough. I didn’t really picture such an attractive Holmes but it seems to work. I sort of preferred the book version of this, but I guess it would be difficult to go with that story line in modern times unless they used some cult or something. I also don’t feel like Holmes is as much of an arrogant asshole as he could be, but good enough. You know, I actually don’t have as much to say on this as I thought….

Anyway, I say watch this episode.

Leave a Reply

