Sherlock Holmes #2 The Sign of Four (Arthur Conan Doyle, narrated by David Clark) book, fiction – audio

crime, detective, mystery

Mary Morstan comes to Holmes with two puzzles. First, her father disappeared without a trace 10 years previous. Second, Mary has been receiving one pearl a year for six years from an unknown person, the last coming with a letter requesting to meet.

I actually fell asleep a few times listening to this one. Not because it was boring but because I was overtired when listening to it. It was interesting enough though. But the thing with Mary and Watson pisses me off. I don’t like it. The mystery was interesting though. I think I may have liked it a bit more than A Study in Scarlet. It makes it obvious when it’s explaining the motives. It doesn’t just suddenly go back in time to some strange place with no Holmes. The drugs threw me off though. I never heard of Sherlock Holmes having a drug problem….

So, it doesn’t really matter if you read it or not I guess. For this one though, I think I probably would have preferred an actual book over the audio though.

Leave a Reply

