(Sherlock Holmes #1) A Study in Scarlet (Arthur Conan Doyle, narrated by David Clark) book, fiction – audio

sherlock holmes 1. a study in scarlet - arthur conan doyle. david clark
mystery, crime, detective, historical

1881 Dr Watson has returned to London from Afghanistan. Being forced to leave the armed services, a friend helps him find a place to stay, with an eccentric and knowledgeable roommate, Sherlock Holmes, a consulting detective. When a man is found murdered, Scotland Yard requests Holmes’ assistance. Curious, Watson follows Holmes.

It was interesting enough. I actually liked it, although if I was reading it myself, I’m not sure if I would have been able to concentrate enough to finish it. Especially since halfway through it goes back to 1847 in Utah with the Mormons. I almost stopped listening to it there because I couldn’t figure out why it went back more than 30 years, to a different country, and Holmes and Watson weren’t even there. BUT there is a reason for it and it does have to do with it so don’t stop listening! Actually, Mormons actually sort of interest me, so I think it made me like it more than I would have, even if it also made me want to stop since I didn’t think there was any reason for it.

Leave a Reply

