Sword Art Online (2012) anime, tv – sub

402. Sword Art Online
action, adventure, fantasy, game, romance

In the 2020s a new virtual reality MMORPG, Sword Art Online, is released. Shortly after it’s launch, the players begin to realize they can’t log out. That is when they are told that in order to get back to the real world, they must beat all 100 levels of the game. However, if they die in game, they die in real life.

It took me awhile to get interested in this. The main characters are annoying, the first few episodes kept going at a messed up pace until it hit around 2 years. Then they actually gave you more than just a few little main points to give you an idea of what’s going on. Then it’s not like it’s the first time I’ve watched or read something where people are put into a game, real life or otherwise, where the people risk real death if they die in the game. I think if it was, I would have found it more interesting, even if I didn’t like the characters.

Then this is divided into two parts. The first is ep 1-14 and I didn’t mind it too much. I couldn’t get overly into it until about ep 8ish. Then by then, even if I didn’t like it, I stayed interested because I wanted to find out what happened. The second part is ep 15-25. I liked the character design a lot more in this part but the story itself annoyed me. Kiritos sister was a main character and she just constantly pissed me off. I constantly wanted to knock some sense into her. The was a scene with tentacles though so…

Anyway, I think it was over-hyped for no reason at all. It’s okay but I see no reason for so many people to be saying “You HAVE to watch SAO!!” Seriously, I had at least 50 people telling me it’s a must watch. No, it’s not. It’s interesting enough if you like games or whatever. Although, with all the negativity I’m giving it, I didn’t mind it too much and plan to continue watching it, even though the description makes it look like it’s gonna be in a game with a bunch of guns, which doesn’t interest me too much.

How about a rare set of recommendations?
Btooom! (anime)Bus Gamer (anime)
Danganronpa (anime)
Death Billiards and Death Parade (anime)
Real Account (manga)
Battle Royale (book, Japanese movie)
Gamer (American movie)
Battlefield Baseball (Japanese movie)
Death Tube (Japanese Movie)
Death Game Park (Japanese drama)
the Incite Mill (Japanese movie)

Leave a Reply

