Annie (2014) live action, movie – USA

Annie. 2014
comedy, drama, family
director: Will Gluck
writers: Will Gluck, Aline Brosh McKenna
starring: Jamie Foxx, Quvenzhane Wallis, Rose Byrne, Bobby Cannavale, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, David Zayas, Cameron Diaz

Annie lives with a mean foster parent and a bunch of other girls. One day, she runs into business tycoon Will Stacks. Thinking it will boost his ratings for the mayoral election, he then decides to take her in.

I went into this expecting to hate it. After all, it’s a remake of a classic and they ALWAYS butcher them. Not the case though. I do have one teensy little problem though. What the hell did they do to the song Little Girls?! It was always my favourite but it was butchered in this. That being said though, I loved Annie probably almost as much as the 1982 version. I think I liked this Annies singing more though. I also likes Stacks far more then Warbucks. Also, this one didn’t have Tim Curry, which was a bit of a plus for me. Although my dislike for him sort of works for Annie. I also thought the dog was cuter in this one. I am kinda curious though… Are they living in a world where Annie never existed? Or is it that Annie did exist and Annie and her parents purposefully acted like in the movie?

Anyway, it’s worth watching. Some people may hate this version just because it’s not the first version they saw, but it’s really not that bad if you give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

