Repo! The Genetic Opera (2008) live action, movie – USA

repo the genetic opera
horror, musical, sci fi
director: Darren Lynn Bousman
writers: Darren Smith, Terrance Zdunich
starring: Alexa Vega, Paul Sorvino, Anthony Stewart Head, Sarah Brightman, Paris Hilton, Bill Moseley, Nivek Ogre, Terrance Zdunich

In 2056 there is an epidemic of organ failures. Cashing in on this comes GeneCo, a company that offers organ transplants for a price. This leads to a trend of getting surgery for the sake of it and addictions to painkillers. However, if you’re late on paying back, repossessions that usually ends with the person dying a legal. In this world, there is a 17 year old girl that is sheltered and has a rare blood disease, gets dragged into a feud with GeneCo.

This is one of my favourite movies. When I first found it a few years ago, I probably watched it at least once a day for a month (this was obviously before I found anime and Asian dramas and have no where near enough time). I love the music, I love the story, I love the acting and the characters. I actually put off watching it for a while because of Paris Hilton being in it. Know like, nothing about her, even less then, but I had seen something else with her before and her acting was so bad that it ruined the entire movie. That being said though, the role she had here suited her. She was a drug and surgery addicted heiress. Then there’s Anthony Stewart Head, who is, of course, nummy and amazing (why couldn’t he have saved Dominion?). Then Alexa Vega is cute. Sarah Brightman and Terrance Zdunich are nummy. Pretty much everyone (with the odd exception) are nummy. Plus, the clothes and overall style and feel is awesome. I’m gonna end here though because if I keep going, I’ll be going into major spoiler territory and I want to avoid that.

Anyway, definitely worth watching. In fact, go watch before you do anything else.

Leave a Reply

