Monsterz (2014) live action, movie – Japan

188. Monsterz
mystery, thriller
starring: Fujiwara Tatsuya, Yamada Takayuki, Ishihara Satomi, Matsushige Yutaka, Fjii Mina

A man who is able to control people with his eyes and grew up with an abusive father, who he killed, and was abandoned by his mother meets Tanaka Shuichi, a man he cannot control. Shuichi lost his family in a car accident as a child and has his own abilities.

Almost 2 years ago I watch the Korean version, Haunters, so I still remember a bit of that, but not much. Just enough to recognize a few of the scenes. So I’m probably not going to compare much, if at all.

So anyway, it has Fujiwara Tatsuya which is a major plus. I felt like the acting, from everyone, was great. The story was entertaining. It was quite interesting overall. I’m not sure about the end though. In a way, I loved it. On the other hand, what happened to Shuichi didn’t make much sense and what happened to the eye guy was just depressing. I think there could have been a better ending for both of them. Then a large part seemed to be the eye guy wanting people to call him by name because he’s not a monster, he’s a human. But do we get to find out his name? no. Even when there’s a perfect opportunity to reveal it.

I’d probably watch it again, and suggest other people watch it.

Also, since I don’t like him not having a name, I decided to name him myself: Akamatsu Kentaro. That shall be his name. Unless he has an actual name of his own. In which case, someone please tell me.

Leave a Reply

