Grave of the Fireflies (2008) live action, movie – Japan

187. Grave of the Fireflies
drama
starring: Yoshitake Reo, Hatakeyama Rina, Matsuzaka Keiko, Matsuda Seiko

A junior high school boy and his younger sister try to survive in Japan during WWII when their father is missing and they lost their home and mother in a bombing in Kobe.

For some reason, I just didn’t like this. The aunt pissed me off like she was supposed to, but these kids just annoyed me and I couldn’t get into it. I thought the anime was actually far more emotional. Maybe it’s just that I’ at the point where real people affect me less than animated characters. But the little girls crying kind of pissed me off and the boy didn’t seem to care about her as much as he did in the anime (from what I recall).

I do know a bunch of people that think this is one of the best and saddest movies though so go for it I guess? Although I’d suggest the anime over this.

Leave a Reply

