Flowers in the Attic (2014) live action, movie – USA

flowers in the attic. 2014
drama, romance, thriller
director: Deborah Chow
writers: VC Andrews, Kayla Alpert
starring: Heather Graham, Ellen Burstyn, Kiernan Shipka, Mason Dye, Ava Telek, Maxwell Kovach

After their father dies suddenly, their mother takes Cathy, Christopher, Carrie and Cory to her mothers home where they are forced to live in a small room and an attic where they are abused and learn more than they want to about their parents.

The grandmother (Ellen Burstyn) actually gave me the chills a few times. I thought she was an amazing actress. I’m not sure about the others though. It happens over the span of 2 years or something like that, so it could be that 2 years was squeezed into a 90-minute movie, it could have been the writing or it could have been the acting, but as interesting as the movie was, I felt absolutely nothing for these kids or the mother. I didn’t care what happened to anyone but the grandmother. If the book is anything like this, I think I know why the last time I read it was when I was 6 or 7…

If you have absolutely nothing else to watch, go for it. Even if you feel nothing for the characters, the story itself is interesting enough.

Leave a Reply

