THE READING Book 21: Silent Night (Stanley Weintraub)

0021L0003. Silent Night The Story of the World War I Christmas Truce. Stanley Weintraub

TITLE: Silent Night: The Story of the World War I Christmas Truce

AUTHOR: Stanley Weintraub

GENRE: paperback, nonfiction, history, war

PUBLISHER: Plume

PAGES: 175

YEAR: 2002

NOTES: dropped

DESCRIPTION: Story of Christmas truce during WWI in 1914

DECISION: Lose

 

I hate that I dropped this. I really wanted to read it. But I can’t get into WWI. Not sure why, but the only war things I’ve ever been able to get interested in is WWII. But I never drop things. The only books I’ve ever quit reading were Stephen King. Now I’ve dropped 2/21. I’m really getting bad at this. I think part of the reason was because of the language. The way it was written was boring to begin with. Then it has different languages. I have a hard time with it. It’s mostly in English, but then there are some German lines (which I don’t mind too much since I’m trying to learn German), but then there’s also French and some Hindi I believe? I also feel like there’s other languages as well. But it just gets annoying and there’s only translations every once in awhile. I don’t know enough of anything other than English to understand most of the rest.

It just annoys me to no end that I couldn’t finish it. But even after 1 page I was falling asleep.

 

Book #21

Keep #18

Lose #3

Leave a comment