Sleepaway Camp (1983) movie, live action – USA

sleepaway camp

Slightly traumatized and painfully shy Angela Baker is sent away to summer camp with her cousin. Not long after Angela’s arrival, things start to go horribly wrong for anyone with sinister or less than honorable intentions. (imdb)

First, let me start off by saying that it is currently 5:30 am, I have yet to sleep and I have a headache, either from lack of sleep, or lack of caffeine. But either way, ignore any grammatical errors that may arise, and ignore if I get off topic.

Ok, so something I always wonder about when watching movies from the ’80s, but did guys actually dress like that back then? Shorts that could barely even be classed as underwear, high socks and shirts cut off at around the nipple line, or a bit lower? It’s really creepy… If the way they spoke wasn’t bad enough, if that’s actually how they dressed, I am extremely happy I wasn’t even thought of back then…

As for the movie itself, it had an interesting idea for the killer. But I don’t think they really thought out the execution of it well enough. Which is really sad. So it ended up being just a cheesy movie, with obviously fake blood, nothing that really kept me on edge (although at the end I did pause it to put my glasses on and that body was nothing at all like how it looked throughout the movie. Taking off clothing should not change it that much. But it’s from the early ’80’s, so I’ll ignore that), and unlike other cheesy horror movies, there was nothing funny about it either.

So, I personally wouldn’t suggest watching it. Unless you like cheesy ’80’s “horror” movies.

Leave a Reply

