Saving Face (2004) – movie

saving face

A Chinese-American lesbian and her traditionalist mother are reluctant to go public with secret loves that clash against cultural expectations. (imdb)

I can’t figure out if I like this movie or not. The acting is iffy. Especially when it comes to Wil and Vivian, although the mother is pretty good. But I think what really annoys me is the language. The back of the case when I grabbed it said the audio options were English or French. It completely ignored the face that at least half, if not more, of the movie is in Chinese. Which wouldn’t have been too bad, if it wasn’t for the fact that one person would be speaking Chinese while another was speaking English which completely threw me off to the point where I decided to put subtitles up for the English parts as well because it was throwing me off so much half the time I didn’t even realize they were speaking in English.

But it was funny and had a good story line. Probably my favourite line though was at the end of the movie when the 48 year old pregnant mother that was with a guy with a major age difference asked her lesbian daughter and her girlfriend when they were going to have a baby.

Anyway, if you don’t mind the constant language change, I’d say watch it.

Leave a comment